Flynn Building 278 Old Sudbury Road Sudbury, MA 01776 978-639-3387 Fax: 978-639-3314

www.sudbury.ma.us/historicdistricts

MINUTES

JULY 13, 2022 AT 2:00 PM

VIRTUAL MEETING

Members Present: Chair Fred Taylor, Vice Chair Susanna Finn, Chris Hagger, Anuraj Shah, and Taryn Trexler

Members Absent: None

Others Present: Peter Benton of Heritage Strategies, LLC, Director of Planning and Community Development Adam Duchesneau, Planning and Zoning Coordinator Beth Perry, and Historical Commission Vice Chair Diana Warren

Mr. Taylor called the meeting to order at 2:02 PM.

Discussion regarding Historic Preservation Plan with Peter Benton of Heritage Strategies LLC and Diana Warren of the Historical Commission

Mr. Benton went over some recommendations which had been added to the draft Historic Preservation Plan, which included the following topics:

- Public Outreach
- New Development Proposal
- Cultural Research Study
- Language Change to Bylaws and Regulations
- National Thematic Historic District
- Town-Wide Historic District Overlay

There was then discussion regarding single property local historic districts and including single properties in existing local historic districts.

Ms. Trexler noted some properties that could be added to the King Philip Historic District.

There was then discussion regarding how to obtain funding for some of the entities that support historic initiatives.

Discussion regarding Historic Districts Commission Priorities

Minutes Historic Districts Commission July 13, 2022 Page 2 of 2

Mr. Taylor asked the members of the Historic Districts Commission to give the following topics some thought:

- Revising the process (and bylaw) by which properties are condemned for not being safe
- Developing a Demolition by Neglect Bylaw
- Updating the Historic Districts Commission Design Guidelines
- Reducing local historic districts
- Filing a Certified Local Government Application

Administrative Report/Update

There were no topics discussed under this item

At 3:47 PM, Mr. Taylor made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Mr. Hagger seconded the motion. Roll Call Vote: Mr. Taylor – Aye, Ms. Finn – Aye, Mr. Hagger – Aye, Mr. Shah – Aye, and Ms. Trexler – Aye.