## **Community Preservation Committee**

The Community Preservation Committee ("CPC") is in its sixth year of reviewing proposals for funding under the Community Preservation Act ("CPA" or "Act", MGL Chapter 44B). Under the Act, funds may be used for the acquisition, creation and preservation of open space; acquisition, preservation, rehabilitation and restoration of historic resources; acquisition, creation and preservation of land for recreational use; creation, preservation and support of community housing; and the rehabilitation or restoration of such open space, land for recreational use and community housing that is acquired or created through the CPA. The CPC, appointed by the Board of Selectmen, includes nine standing members, with representatives from the Town's Conservation Commission, Finance Committee, Historical Commission, Housing Authority, Planning Board, Park and Recreation Commission, Board of Selectmen, and two at-large citizen members. The CPC is supported by Jody Kablack, Director of Planning and Community Development, and has been staffed by part-time assistance from the Planning Office.

At the 2007 Annual Town Meeting, projects were presented in the areas of historic preservation (Carding Mill House Restoration), recreation opportunities (funding for studies related to the Bruce Freeman Rail Trail Conversion), and creation of affordable community housing (funding for Sudbury Housing Trust and the extension of the sunset provision from Article 42 of the 2005 Annual Town meeting approving the funding for the buy-down of market rate homes to create affordable housing). One open space related article was withdrawn. The total face value cost of all projects approved at the 2007Town Meeting was approximately \$542,300; the funding for the 2005 housing buy-down from Article 42 of that year (\$500,000) had already been set and is not included in that total. In addition, debt service expenses of \$811,798 for prior projects and \$95,000 for administrative and operational needs of the CPC for FY08, were appropriated.

The CPA funds raised in FY07 through the local tax surcharge equaled \$1,304,321. This was higher than the Committee's conservative budgeted amount of \$1,100,000. The Town received a 100% FY07 match in October, 2007 from the state CPA trust fund, bringing revenues to \$2,611,936. The CPC expects a similar revenue stream from the local surcharge in the coming year, and is hopeful of continued significant state matching funds for FY09. However the CPC notes that as additional municipalities adopt the Community Preservation Act, the State matching funds are apportioned across a greater number of towns. It is likely that future State matching levels will diminish. Monies not appropriated have accumulated, and our unreserved fund balance at the end of 2007 is approximately \$5.1 million.

The CPC co-sponsored, with the Selectmen, an article at the Special Town meeting held December 3<sup>rd</sup> to purchase the Young Property on Boston Post Road using CPA funds, so that the property could be used for Community Housing and deeded to the Sudbury Housing Trust. The article was defeated.

This past year, Jennifer Burney, Assistant Town Planner, provided much appreciated support to the Committee. She left that position in the summer of 2007 and at the time of this report has not been permanently replaced. In addition 2007 brought two significant changes to the Committee membership, as well as normal board representative changes. Mark Kablack, an at-large member of the Committee, and Carol Wolfe, representative of the Historical Commission, both founding members of the committee, and Alan Jefts representative of the Park and Recreation Commission, stepped down. Their dedication and commitment have been appreciated by the committee and enjoyed by the Town. We thank them for their service and thoughtful contributions. In their stead, the Committee welcomes Seamus O'Kelley, member at large, James Hill, Historical Commission and Georgette Heerwagen, Park and Recreation Commission representatives.

Christopher Morely, Planning Board, Chair
Tara Nolan Reed, At-large Member
Seamus O'Kelley, At-large Member
John C. Drobinski, Selectmen
Richard Bell, Conservation Commission
James A. Hill, Historic Commission
Georgette P. Heerwagen, Park and Recreation Commission
Sherrill Cline, Housing Authority
Sheila A. Stewart, Finance Committee